The International Spatial Development Forum received a lot of positive comments from the city Administration, academic and international expert community as well as from the people of our city.

Mikhail Klimovskii

Mikhail Klimovskii

Head of Program Directorate of the International spatial development forum

In my opinion, the Forum has achieved the main goal of this year to open the platform for discussion on issues relating to urban development of St. Petersburg at the level of top officials of the city. The Forum has become a platform for organizing the international professional expertise and updating of the directions of the strategy of socio-economic and urban development of our city. The first Forum gave an opportunity to outline the contours of future topics and the list of priority problems that require solutions. To address these problems the Program Directorate will continue systematic work on improving the level of expertise in the cycle of further events.

Rashid Seedat

Rashid Seedat

Head of Gauteng Planning Division at Gauteng Provincial Government, Johannesburg, South Africa

The plenary session with the vice governors of St. Petersburg and Leningrad Region was very interesting. Speakers raised a question not only about the challenges and problems but also about benefits that arise in considering the metropolitan area as a whole. These include issues of a strategy, spatial planning, transport, economic relations and management. In addition, attendance at the other sessions of the Forum was very useful for understanding the dynamics of urban and development planning of St. Petersburg and the surrounding area. The content of the Forum provided the right balance between the needs and problems of St. Petersburg and topics that were important for the delegates from Russia and from abroad. Within this framework, the specific problems of St. Petersburg have been worked out (considered) in an effort to draw the general lessons from them.

Bill Boerum

Bill Boerum

Chairman of Sister Cities Internationals

The Forum was well organized around the main topic (spatial development) and three directions (global aspect, regional aspect, and good urban governance) contributed to the show up of the main topic during the whole Forum. A large number of experts from all over the world showed that the organizers of the Forum paid serious attention to the best advices and recommendations.
It is very good that your Governor really took part in the Forum and not only delivered a welcome speech. As for plenary sessions and presentations, they made Forum well structured and balanced. Participation of the speakers from various fields from all over the world made the program truly unique.

Egbert Stolk

Egbert Stolk

Researcher at the Department of Urbanism at the Delft University of Technology

What was interesting was active participation of the politicians. In some sessions, local and regional authorities widely participated (and sometimes even dominated) in discussions. I think, a more explicit reference to this political aspect of urban planning can be an interesting addition to the Forum next year. Not only invitation of the politicians but also discussion of political context. There is one more moment that maybe would demand more attention - it is an institutional role of professional planners / urbanists / architects in relation to this political context. What skills do specialists need to complete political request? This is due to the fundamental values that trigger the planning system. As there is a difference between these values in different countries and even within countries, I think it would be interesting to discuss them, especially on an international level. The inclusion of these three aspects (policy / role of the professional / values) will contribute to the realization of the future vision of St. Petersburg.

Andreas Trisko

Andreas Trisko

Head of the Urban Development and Planning Department,,Head of Municipal Department 18, City of. Vienna

In my opinion, the most interesting point of the Forum was the opportunity to make sure once again that big cities all over the world have the similar problems and also the same strategies for finding solutions to these problems. In my opinion "... important issues for the future development of St. Petersburg are:
1. Traffic and public spaces. You do really have traffic jams, which I haven’t faced in Vienna for a while. Our solution is more pedestrians, cyclists, and public transport. This solution also involves rethinking of arrangements of streets and public spaces.
2. You as a growing city can also check to see whether the reconstruction of the gray zone in the city center more efficient (or, at least, an additional) way to solve the problems of growth - in relation to the construction of satellite towns"

Andrew Bullen

Andrew Bullen

Co-founder and CEO of The Creative Cooperative, Consultant to major European regions for Innovation, Strategy and Design in the European Digital Cultural and Creative Industries, co-founded the European Street Design Challenge, global urban design competition hosting in Paris annually since 2010.

For me and my colleague Janine Huizenga the opportunity to discuss and share our vision of the future of St. Petersburg with a wide range of stakeholders - local authorities, universities, creative industries experts, architects, designers, urbanists and artists was the most important aspect of our participation in the Forum. We combined our participation in the Forum with a team-work with the students and specialists from St. Petersburg on creating the idea of the Spit of Vasilyevsky Island "reconstruction". It also gave us an insight into the real problems and possibilities of the St. Petersburg development. It was a great opportunity for a joint study of the prospects of the city with traditions, that has a lot of social and cultural problems in terms of the future development.

Elena Ulyanova

Elena Ulyanova

The Chairman of the Committee on Economic Policy and Strategic Planning of St. Petersburg

The Strategy-2030 was adopted last year. It implies the achievement of harmony in the distribution of territorial, labor, social and other resources.

In my opinion, the name of "Harmony of diversity» is quite consistent with the changes that are now outlined in the planning system of the urban development. Transition to a polycentric model involves the alignment, bringing harmony to the living conditions and quality of life in urban areas. Now St. Petersburg is in the beginning of a way from monocentrism to polycentrism. Therefore, the Forum is interesting as a platform for exchanging of experience and elaborating new ideas for it` s development. The Forum had started a constructive dialogue with the public, experts, and University Community on the issues of the harmonious urban development. That there was a need for the Forum is a testament to the burning necessity to improve the system for managing of urban development, and we expect that the results having obtained from the Forum will work towards developing of concrete measures concerning the comprehensive and coordinated development of the Northern capital.

Dmitry Yalov

Dmitry Yalov

Vice-Chairman of the Government of Leningrad Oblast on Economy and Investments

Coordinated development of St. Petersburg and the Leningrad region within the agglomeration is a complex and multidimensional issue. A few years ago in the relationship of two subjects there were unresolvable problems: competition for investment and labor force, the disparities in socio-economic development of territories of the city and the region, problems of ecological and recreational character, the lack of integrated approaches to housing development on the borders of two subjects. The Coordination Council of St. Petersburg and the Leningrad region in the sphere of socio-economic development is the first and most important step in coordinated cooperation of two subjects. It was established in 2012. Constructive public dialogue between the city and the region is not a plan it is an objective reality. And the International Spatial Development Forum: "Harmony of diversity" is an example of such dialogue. The current socio-economic situation requires to extend the existing forms of collaboration and additional co-decision instruments. The active position of experts and the public of the city and the region, including participation in such events, would effectively implement the proposed initiatives and solutions with good prospects for both actors.

Форум пространственного развития получил много положительных отзывов как от Администрации города, так и от научного, экспертного международного сообщества и жителей нашего города.

Михаил Климовский

Михаил Климовский

Руководитель программной дирекции Форума

На мой взгляд, проведение Форума позволило достичь базовой цели этого года — запустить на уровне первых лиц города открытую дискуссионную площадку по вопросам пространственного развития Санкт-Петербурга. Форум стал платформой для организации международной профессиональной экспертизы и актуализации направлений реализации стратегии социально-экономического и пространственного развития нашего города.
Проведение первого Форума позволило очертить контуры будущих тем и список первоочерёдных задач, требующих решений. Для решения этих задач Программная дирекция продолжит систематическую работу над повышением уровня экспертизы в цикле последующих мероприятий

Рашид Сидат

Рашид Сидат

Глава комиссии по планированию провинции Гаутенг, Йоханненсбург, ЮАР

Очень интересным было пленарное заседание, в котором приняли участие Вице-губернаторы Санкт-Петербурга и Ленинградской области. Выступавшие подняли вопрос не только о вызовах и проблемах, но также и преимуществах, которые возникают при рассмотрении агломерации в целом. К ним относятся вопросы стратегии, пространственного планирования, транспорта, экономических связей и управления. Кроме того, присутствие на других заседаниях Форума было очень полезным для понимания динамики городского планирования и планирования развития Санкт-Петербурга и прилегающих территорий. Содержание Форума обеспечило правильный баланс между потребностями и проблемами Санкт-Петербурга и тем, что важно для самих делегатов из России и из-за рубежа. В этом смысле специфические проблемы Санкт-Петербурга были проработаны (рассмотрены) с попыткой извлечь из них общие уроки.

Билл Боерум

Билл Боерум

Глава «Sister cities internationals»

Форум был очень хорошо организован вокруг центральной темы (пространственного развития), а три направления (глобальный аспект, региональный аспект, и эффективное городское управление) способствовали раскрытию главной темы на протяжении всего Форума. Большое число выступавших специалистов в своей профессии из разных стран мира - показало, что организаторы Форума серьезно подошли к вопросу получения лучших советов и рекомендаций. Очень хорошо, что ваш губернатор реально участвовал в Форуме, а не только выступил с приветственной речью. Форум был очень хорошо структурирован и сбалансированв отношении пленарных заседаний и презентаций. Участие в качестве спикеров представителей различных областей деятельности со всего мира сделали программу по-настоящему уникальной.

Эгберт Столк

Эгберт Столк

Исследователь Департамента урбанизма технологического университета, Дельфт

Что было интересно, так это живое участие политиков. В ряде заседаний местные/региональные представители власти активно участвовали (и иногда даже доминировали) в дискуссии. Я думаю, более явное обращение к этому политическому аспекту градопланирования может быть интересным дополнением к Форуму следующего года. Не только приглашение политиков, но и обсуждение самого политического контекста. Еще один момент, который, возможно, потребует немного больше внимания — институциональная роль профессиональных планировщиков/урбанистов/архитекторов по отношению к этому политическому контексту. Какие навыки нужны специалистам для того, чтобы выполнить политические пожелания? Это связано с основополагающими ценностями, которые приводят в действие систему планирования. Поскольку эти ценности сильно отличаются между странами и даже внутри стран, я думаю, что было бы интересно обсудить их, особенно в международном масштабе. Включение этих трех аспектов (политика/роль профессионала/ценности) будет содействовать реализации видения будущего Санкт-Петербурга.

Эндреас Триско

Эндреас Триско

Глава департамента по городскому развитию и планированию города Вена, глава муниципального округа №18

Наиболее интересным моментом на Форуме для меня была возможность удостовериться еще раз, что большие города во всем мире имеют схожие проблемы, а также одинаковые подходы к поиску решений этих проблем. На мой взгляд «… важными вопросами для будущего развития Санкт-Петербурга являются:
1. трафик и общественные пространства. У вас действительно существуют транспортные пробки, с которыми я уже какое-то время не сталкиваюсь в Вене. Наше решение — больше пешеходов, велосипедистов и больше общественного транспорта. Это решение подразумевает также переосмысление схем расположения улиц и общественных пространств;
2. Вы, как растущий город, можете также проверить, не будет ли реконструкция серого пояса в центре города более эффективным (или, по крайней мере, дополнительным) способом решения проблем роста — по отношению к строительству городов-спутников»

Эндрю Булен

Эндрю Булен

Сооснователь и управляющий директор “The Creative Cooperative”, консультант при муниципалитетах, креативных кластерах и коммерческих организаций

Мне и моей коллеге Жанин Хузенга наиболее важным аспектом нашего участия в форуме была возможность обсудить и поделиться своим видением будущего Санкт- Петербурга с широким кругом заинтересованных сторон - местными властями, университетами, специалистами творческих индустрий, архитекторами, дизайнерами, урбанистами и художниками. Мы совместили наше участие в Форуме с несколькими днями работы совместно со студентами и специалистами Санкт-Петербурга над созданием идеи «реконструкции» стрелки Васильевского острова. Это также дало нам понимание реальных проблем и возможностей для развития Санкт-Петербурга. Это была прекрасная возможность для совместного изучения перспектив города с традициями, у которого много социальных и культурных задач в плане будущего развития

Елена Ульянова

Елена Ульянова

Председатель Комитета по экономической политике и стратегическому планированию Санкт-Петербурга

Принятая в прошлом году Стратегия-2030 предполагает достижение гармонии в распределении территориальных, трудовых, социальных и иных ресурсов. И название «Гармония многогранности», на мой взгляд, вполне соответствует тем изменениям, которые сейчас наметились в системе планирования развития города. Переход к полицентрической модели предполагает выравнивание, приведение к гармонии условий качества жизни городских территорий. И Петербург, поскольку он только в начале пути от моноцентризма к полицентризму, заинтересован в форуме как площадке по обмену опытом и выработке новых идей развития. Прошедший Форум заложил начало конструктивного диалога с общественностью, экспертами и университетским сообществом по вопросам гармоничного развития городского пространства. Само появление такого форума говорит о назревшей необходимости совершенствовать систему управления городским развитием, и мы рассчитываем на то, что результаты, полученные по итогам форума будут способствовать выработке конкретных мер, направленных на всестороннее и согласованное развитие Северной столицы

Дмитрий Ялов

Дмитрий Ялов

Заместитель Председателя Правительства Ленинградской области по экономике и инвестициям

Согласованное развитие Санкт-Петербурга и Ленинградской области в рамках агломерации — вопрос сложный и многогранный. Еще несколько лет назад во взаимоотношениях двух субъектов были, казалось бы, неразрешимые проблемы: конкуренция за инвестиции и рабочую силу, диспропорции в социально-экономическом развитии территорий города и области, проблемы экологического и рекреационного характера, отсутствие комплексных подходов к жилищному строительству на границах двух субъектов. Первым и важным шагом на пути согласованного сотрудничества двух субъектов стало создание в 2012 году Координационного совета Санкт-Петербурга и Ленинградской области в сфере социально-экономического развития. Сейчас конструктивный публичный диалог города и области — это уже не планы, а объективная реальность. И одним из примеров такого диалога может служить прошедший форум пространственного развития «Гармония многогранности». Нынешняя социально-экономическая ситуация требует от нас расширения существующих форм взаимодействия и поиска дополнительных инструментов принятия совместных решений. Активная позиция экспертов и общественности города и области, в том числе посредством участия в таких мероприятиях, позволит эффективно реализовывать предлагаемые инициативы и решения, перспективные для обоих субъектов.